Monday, January 14, 2013

freshvibesmonday #20

So much has happened in the past month (in the music world) I don't even know where to begin. It seems like every week has been filled with exciting music announcements regarding album releases and tour dates from artists I wasn't expecting to hear from. Specifically, Destiny's Child released a brand new track titled "Nuclear" and as I posted on the Facebook Page for LYED - Justin Timberlake released a brand new track with Jay-Z & produced by Timbaland. What really got me excited was hearing that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs performed 2 new songs recently at the Glass House in Pomona, California.  
"Suck Young Blood"
 We now know (thanks to Pitchfork) that their upcoming full-length release is titled Mosquito & will be released on April 16th on Interscope Records. Check out the album art above which was created by filmmaker/animator Beomsik Shimbe Shim
Hope you enjoy today's list of songs/videos! :)
Santigold - "GIRLS"
"GIRLS" was indeed made for the soundtrack of HBO Girls, and this adorable yet funky video was released earlier today! If you didn't believe in Santigold before; you should now. 
California Wives - "BLOOD RED YOUTH"
I've been hearing this track at work for quite some time now, and once I finally figured out who it was (thanks to SoundHound) I wanted to share it! This track is the opener on their debut full-length titled Art History via Vagrant Records which was released last September. Listen to it here! 
Yo La Tengo - "OHM"
I decided to feature a YLT track off their new album Fade, which arrives tomorrow (among other amazing albums that I'll mention at the end of this post)! Woo. 
Shout Out Louds, a Swedish indie band whose sound reminds me of Stars - a very carefree and breezy sound. They've been together for ten years now, and will be releasing their next full-length on February 26th! The name of the album is Optica & is where you will find "Walking in Your Footsteps". ALSO: Shout Out Louds will be at SXSW!  
The Ruby Suns - "KINGFISHER"
Off their upcoming album Christopher which will be album #4 for this New Zealand trio & yes, the image for the video is in fact the album cover. Check out The Ruby Suns' artist page over on Sub Pop Records if you get the chance!  

Not only is Yo La Tengo releasing a new album tomorrow, but Free Energy, Holopaw, and A$AP Rocky are too! Pretty sure everyone and their brother are excited for Long.Live.A$AP, including yours truly.

No comments:

Post a Comment